Greetings!

New to the forum? Come and introduce yourself here.

Greetings!

Postby riverfox » Sat Jun 08, 2013 3:57 pm

Greetings!

I wish I were introducing myself under more auspicious circumstances.

I'm new to internet fora and was moved to sign up here after watching a truly sickening lecture presented by Dr Richard Carrier describing the vile treatment Jen Mc Creight and other prominent women within our community have been subjected to at the hands of those identifying as atheists.

The sense of outrage I am currently experiencing is visceral.

Until now I have, perhaps naively, assumed that the atheist community was an affiliation of those moved by the Enlightenment spirit including a broadly humanistic approach rooted in empathy with and compassion for our conspecifics.

To discover that atheism is now a cover for the kind of abusive misogyny that would disgrace the most bigoted and patriarchal of religions saddens me beyond measure.

Atheism+ rightly suggest that we need, as a community, to consider what we seek freedom from religion in order to facilitate.

I would hope the answer might be that week seek freedom from superstitious impositions in order to enter into an adult secular conversation around the ways in which we can work together to create a society worthy of the name and capable of safeguarding and promoting the welfare of all its members.

As the defence of marginalised demographics and a concern with issues relating to social justice would seem centre to the realisation of this aspiration I would seem to be pulling in the same direction as many addressing this forum.

Rant over, I am a man rapidly eating up middle age and a scientist / counsellor by training and profession.